Virginia Tiny House laws are made for the benefit of the entire state, bit not knowing what this law says can make or break your Tiny Home aspirations.
But fortunately for you, that’s not going to happen…not when you have me to guide you.
The reason why this sort of information is necessary is because not all states in the US are welcoming of Tiny Houses. There are some states that forbid it, some that are a bit 50-50 and some that are absolutely pro Tiny life.
That’s why it’s very crucial you know and understand the laws of the land before you start building. You want to avoid a situation where some time down the line, the Authorities come knocking on your door to demolish your property.
Just so you know, Texas, California, Oregon, North Carolina and Colorado are a few of the most Tiny living friendly States.
I bet you’re wondering why Virginia isn’t listed there. I guess you’ll find out as the article progresses.
By the end of this post, you should be able to tell if indeed the State of Virginia is ideal for your Tiny Home dreams.
About the State of Virginia
Officially called the “Commonwealth of Virginia“, this state located in the mid-Atlantic and Southeastern parts of the United States has produced the most number of Presidents above all other States in the US.
They don’t call her the “Mother of Presidents” for nothing.
FAQs about Virginia Tiny House laws
To kick off this in-depth, investigative article, let’s answer a few Frequently Asked Questions you all have been asking on Google search.
Q1. Where are Tiny Homes legal in Virginia?
In the state of Virginia, Tiny Houses are only considered legal when you build them in districts that have been zoned for single-family residences as contained in the 2018 Virginia Residential Code.
Q2. How much does it cost to build a Tiny House in Virginia?
The cost of building a Tiny House in Virginia isn’t cast in stone.
It can vary due to a number of factors like how many bedrooms will be there, will it be on Wheels or with a foundation and so on and so forth.
If you plan on building a 3 bed Tiny Home in Virginia, we went in-depth into how much this would cost in our recent post below.
RELATED: 3 Bedroom Tiny House cost
Nevertheless, if we were to give you an average costing, prepare to spend anything between $40,000 to $100,000.
Q3. Can I put a Tiny House on my property in Virginia?
Any one can put a Tiny House on their Virginia based property as long as they follow the rules and regulations as prescribed in the 2018 Virginia Residential Code.
Q4. Can you build a Tiny House in your backyard in Virginia?
Yes, as a matter of fact, you can. As long as you can abide by the regulations of the State of Virginia regarding the building of Tiny Houses.
To know the details of what is contained in this Residential Code of Conduct, continue reading below.
Virginia Tiny House laws: What do they say?
The Tiny House laws of the State of Virginia as contained in the 2018 Virginia Residential Code, came into effect on July 1st 2021 provided a new amendment, Appendix Q.
Under this mysterious Appendix Q, the provision and regulations for building or owning a Tiny Home in Virginia are stipulated.
These rules decrees that for a House to be considered a “Tiny House”, it must cover a maximum of 400 Square feet or less in floor area.
The Code also gives instructions about the measurement of Lofts in such houses, stipulating that they have a minimum dimension of 7’ x 5’ feet with a ceiling height of 3 feet.
Also, bedrooms, sitting rooms and other habitual spaces in the house must have a ceiling height of not less than 6
feet 8 inches while bathrooms must not fall below 6 feet 4 inches.
It doesn’t stop there.
The 2018 Virginia Residential Code also recommends the use of a tighter more compact stair case or ladder for accessing the loft area.
Prospective home owners would love the fact that just like regular houses, a Tiny House in this State is allowed the freedom to be constructed on-site or off-site.
For those of you harboring hopes of attaching wheels to your Tiny Home, I have bad news: it’s not allowed in Virginia.
The Code specifically requires that all Tiny Houses rightfully called so must be firmly planted to the ground with a foundation.
How do you bypass the Virginia Tiny Home laws?
So you’ve taken a look at the rules and regulations and you’re still bent on planting your feet in this beloved State.
I bet I must have squashed the idea some of you had, which was to build a wheeled house or an RV you can drive around.
ALSO READ: Tiny House Bus conversions
How does one then bypass these laws and still build your Tiny House?
It’s easy actually – simply go build in a Tiny House loving State like Texas, California, Oregon, North Carolina or Colorado.
You can’t fight the law, guys. It’s not worth all the hassle. You know what they say, “If you cant beat them, join them!”
And here you have it!
With all of the above mentioned, I’m curious to know, are you still interested in building a Tiny House in Virginia?
Do let me know in the comments section below.
Also, consider sharing this post on your various social media platforms so other people can know what you now know.
PAY ATTENTION: Read more about building a Tiny Home or go back to Homepage.
1 thought on “These Virginia Tiny House Laws Are Too Important To Ignore”
Why can’t you build a Tiny House in Virginia and still have the RV plugged-in next to it?